Call Us Today!
866-406-2702

« back to waiting families

Kristen

Kristen

Race of child interested in adopting:No Preference

Gender of child interested in adopting:No Preference

Dear Birthmother,

My name is Kristen and I would like to thank you for taking the time to learn more about me. I have known I wanted to adopt for as long as I can remember. You see, I was adopted at birth myself and I have always had the desire to provide a child with the kind of opportunities that I was given as a child. I can understand, better than most people, the kinds of struggles and wonderings any adopted child will feel. I sincerely hope you take the time to learn even more about me by reading through this profile.


About Me

I was born and raised in Southern California. I was adopted at birth and have been aware of being adopted since I was 4 years old. I grew up in a home with my mother, grandmother, aunt, and three cousins. I had a fulfilling childhood in which I was given the opportunity to explore several of my interests. I excelled in school despite keeping very busy with all my extracurricular activities. Once I reached high school, I began babysitting for several families at our church and eventually became a summer nanny for one of the families. My love of education and children made my choice to become a teacher a natural fit. I was the first person in my household to graduate from college. I received my B.A. in education and my teaching credential in math. After teaching for a few years in California, I returned to school and obtained my M.A. in math education. After completing my schooling, I moved to Idaho to both pursue my career in alternative education and allowed my mother to retire. I am currently working at an innovative high school near Boise, and I enjoy a variety of sports and hobbies in my free time. I would like to become more involved in my community and look forward to doing things like library programs for children, and possibly being an assistant coach on my child's soccer team.


My Home

I live in a 4-bedroom home in Idaho with my mother who is retired. In our home, we have spaces designated for a nursery as well as a play room for a child. The lot our home was built on is oversized, which allows us to have a very spacious backyard. Our subdivision has several park areas, one of which has a playground and a community pool that is open from late spring to early fall. Also, both of my neighbors across the street as well as next door, have small children. This will allow for more interaction as well as support and knowledge for programs in the area. I have chosen a jungle animal theme as it is gender neutral and ready for either a boy or a girl. My mother, who is an amateur seamstress, sewed the crib sheets, bumper pads, blankets, and pillows that you will see in the room. She looks forward to making many more items for her future grandchild. Being an educator myself, I have already looked at the schools in the area that the child would attend. The local choices for schools are the public elementary for the town as well as a charter school that is K-12. There is a monthly newspaper here that is sent out locally that includes activities in the area. In addition to public sports activities such as soccer leagues, there are also community movie nights in the fall with family-friendly films and the local library has several programs for children of all ages.


My Extended Family

My family consists of my mother, two aunts, an uncle and his wife, four cousins, and a total of 10 children between my cousins. My mother and I live together in our home in Idaho. She is the best person I know and is a shining example to me of how to be an adoptive parent. My cousin Denise has always been like a big sister to me, and I expect her to play an active role in the life of my future child. My grandmother was also very influential in teaching me how to be a strong, independent woman. It affected me greatly when she passed away before I graduated from college.


My Family Traditions

Growing up as one of seven people living in a 3-bedroom house, my family and I were always there to support each other. Major holidays were always spent with lots of extended family, and I fondly remember family vacations to the mountains in the winter. One of the major traditions in our family is learning how to make noodles from scratch. My grandmother taught me as a young child and my mother looks forward to teaching her grandchild as well. Road trips have always been a tradition in my family. My first road trip was from California to Chicago and back when I was 4. We also have the tradition of taking a road trip to the central coast of California for spring break. I strongly feel that trips and experiences make for the most lasting memories.


What Led Me To Adoption

I've always known that I wanted to adopt a child. I, myself, was adopted at birth with an adoption arranged before I was born. As a child, I was raised knowing that I was loved and cherished, and that I belonged in my adoptive family. I became aware of my adoption at the age of 4 when my mom explained the situation to me honestly. Growing up, my aunt ran a daycare facility in our home, so I was always exposed to many children in a variety of ages. I love children, especially babies. I've been told that I light up whenever I'm around babies and small children. I am choosing to adopt so that I can give my child all the love and belonging that I was given in my home.


Facts About Kristen

  • Occupation: Teacher
  • Religion: Protestant
  • Education: Master's Degree in Education
  • Favorite Food: Fried Chicken
  • Favorite Hobby: Playing music
  • Favorite Movie: Singin' in the Rain
  • Favorite Sport: Soccer
  • Favorite Holiday: Christmas
  • Favorite Music Group: The Beatles
  • Favorite TV Show: The Big Bang Theory
  • Favorite Book: The Harry Potter Series
  • Favorite Subject in School: Math
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: Pismo Beach
contact this family
Real time web analytics, Heat map tracking