Call Us Today!
866-406-2702

« back to waiting families

Rachelle

Rachelle

Race of child interested in adopting:African American, Caucasian, Caucasian/Asian, Hispanic or South/Central American, Multi-Racial, Hispanic/Asian

Gender of child interested in adopting:No Preference

Dear Birthmother,

My name is Rachelle. Thank you for taking time to consider me and my family. I am excited to share my story and life journey with you in my profile. I’ve always wanted to be a mom, but due complications from childhood surgeries, I am unable to become one, but I won’t let that stop me from starting a family. I admire your courage in going through this process, I’m sure it’s not an easy decision. I am honored that you have taken the time to consider me to be part of your miracle of life. I am anxious to meet you and get to know you. Yours Truly, Rachelle


About Me

I was born in Haiti and came to the United States at the age of nine. Once I arrived in the states, I grew up in New York and New Jersey. I have two sisters who live in New Jersey. My sisters and I are very close. We talk on the phone and text multiple times a week. We help each other out in every way. My youngest sister is a mother of three beautiful children and I am lucky to have two nieces and a nephew. I love to stay active. I also enjoy decorating my home, gardening, going to the park, sight-seeing, watching/going to the movies, entertaining friends and family at home and occasionally going to the beach. I always strive to improve myself both personally and professionally. I think it’s important to continue to grow and change as a person. I used to be a mental health therapist for both children and adults, now I’m a financial advisor. I help people all day long to improve their financial needs and prepare for a fulfilling retirement. My father is an accountant and my stepmother is a small business owner. They came to the states for a better life and have worked hard to achieve their goals. They have also instilled in my sisters and me the importance of hard work and never giving up on your dreams.


My Home

My neighborhood is very diverse and family-oriented. In the development where I live, there are children of all ages and races. I live in a very convenient location. There are shops, restaurants, lots of dentist offices, a local hospital and great parks and a small zoo. I live in a lovely four-bedroom house, with a big front- and backyard. I live about ½ hour from the city of Philadelphia which is full of history, museums and great cultural events. There is a great elementary school behind my development that is within a short walk. There is a middle school less than two miles away. In Philadelphia and my area where I live, there are colleges and universities at almost every corner. There is an abundance of hospitals as well.


My Extended Family

I have two younger sisters, one of whom has three children under thirteen years old. My family and I always spend Thanksgiving and Christmas together and share great memories and meals. We don’t have too many family traditions except having Easter dinner and taking my parents out for Mother or Father’s day. My father and Stepmother live in New Jersey, my biological mother passed away when I was a toddler. My father still works as an accountant and my stepmother owns a small bridal boutique. My father is my hero. He is very caring, loving and forgiving. He has never failed to provide for us. My stepmother is very hard working and has always been a strong woman. She taught me how to sew (which is a rare art these days) and how to be strong no matter what’s going on in life. I have a large extended family. My father is one of eight children, my stepmother one of six children. As a result, I have over twenty six cousins. I don’t get to see them all the time but when I do, it’s a celebration. I also have a few great loyal long-time friends who are always in my life offering support and love.


My Family Traditions

My family goes all out for the holidays. Our favorite holiday is Christmas. We decorate a live tree together, bake cookies, cook great dishes and buy lots of gifts for the children. Our second favorite holiday is Thanksgiving. Everyone is cooking from the night before until Thanksgiving dinner. The table we set up extends from the dining room to the living room. Our family food tradition includes: two turkeys, a ham, rice, potato salads, mac and cheese and lots of pies. It’s quite a feast, especially for the children. My parents always take the children to church on Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve. Birthdays are also celebrated. We always ask each other and the children how we would like to celebrate our birthdays and always make it special and memorable.


What Led Me To Adoption

I’ve wanted to have a family of my own for a long time. I grew up taking care of children, whether they were family members or babysitting. In college, I was a babysitter that was in high demand. As a result of complications from childhood surgeries, I am unable to have children on my own. When I was married, I had multiple In Vitro Fertilization attempts, but had no success. I then decided I wanted to provide a good home and life to a child through adoption. I have some good friends who were adopted and they are very grateful they were raised by loving families. They are all productive, successful and healthy adults in society. Now they have children of their own and look to adopt to pass on what was given to them. I look forward to working with a birthmother in helping her through the process of adoption as much as I can. I plan to try and make the experience for her a good one to the best of my ability, especially because this is such a tough and very personal decision for her. It takes a lot of courage to trust your child to the care of someone else.


Facts About Rachelle

  • Occupation: Financial Advisor
  • Religion: Christian
  • Education: Master’s Degree
  • Favorite Food: Pizza, Sushi, Chinese
  • Favorite Hobby: Tennis, gardening, entertaining friends and family, watching movies
  • Favorite Movie: Remember the Titans, Zoolander
  • Favorite Sport: Tennis, Soccer
  • Favorite Holiday: Christmas, Thanksgiving, Halloween
  • Favorite Music Group: Adel, Mumford & Sons, Passenger, One Republic, Jack Johnson, Rhianna, Jay-Z
  • Favorite TV Show: Modern Family, The Millers, Big Brother
  • Favorite Book: Don’t sweat the small stuff, it’s all small stuff
  • Favorite Subject in School: Philosophy, English
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: Cancun, Bahamas, California, Bar Harbor (Maine)
contact this family
Real time web analytics, Heat map tracking