Call Us Today!
866-406-2702

« back to waiting families

Samantha & Derek

Samantha  & Derek

Race of child interested in adopting:Caucasian, Caucasian/Asian, Caucasian/Hispanic, Caucasian/Native American

Gender of child interested in adopting:No Preference

Dear Birthmother,

Thank you for reading our profile. We can't imagine how difficult this decision must be for you and it means a lot that you would consider us. We are excited about growing our family. We have tried for some time to have a biological child, but it doesn't seem to be in the cards for us at this time. Instead of visiting doctors and going through tests & treatments, we have decided to pursue adoption. It is more important to us to be parents than it is how we become parents. With that said, adoption isn't new to our family. In fact, we have a sister-in-law who works in adoption and has two sisters who were adopted from China. Our families are so excited to hear that we are pursuing adoption and can't wait to have a new baby in the family. We wish you the best of luck in making your decision and hope to have the opportunity to meet you.


About Us

We are Derek and Samantha. We have been together since 2007 and have been married since 2014. We both went to Purdue University and graduated in 2011. Derek has a degree in Mechanical Engineering and is a Global Product Manager at Ingersoll Rand. Sam has a degree in Political Science and is a Business Initiatives Consultant at Wells Fargo. She is also currently in school part-time working towards an MBA. In 2015, we bought a house in Charlotte, NC with enough space to grow our family and a huge fenced in back yard which our two dogs, Elvis and Luna, really love.


In our free time, we enjoy hanging out with friends. We consider our friends like our family in Charlotte. We enjoy camping, going to the beach, having doggie play dates at the park, and attending baseball games and festivals. We really enjoy traveling. We have been to several places in Europe, China, and the Caribbean Islands. We enjoy experiencing different cultures, histories, and sites. Family is an important part of our lives, even though most of our family lives in Indiana. In addition to their visits to Charlotte, we travel to Indiana at least a few times a year to see them.


Our Home

We built a home in Charlotte, NC in 2015. Our house has 3 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, a large upstairs bonus room, and a huge fenced in backyard. Our neighborhood has a pool, clubhouse, playground, open community areas, and fishing pond. It is an active neighborhood with people of all different ages and backgrounds. Our neighborhood is active and diverse. Most days you will see people fishing, kids biking around the neighborhood, and people out walking their dogs. Just across the street from our neighborhood is a park with several playgrounds, ponds, areas for sports & activities, hiking trails, a fenced in dog park, and a nature center for children. Less than 5 minutes away is our elementary school and library. The elementary school is ranked high in both diversity and academic achievement.


Our Extended Family

Family is a big part of both of our lives. Derek’s parents have been married for over 30 years and he has two younger brothers. Sam’s parents are divorced, but they have both remarried and have been together for over 15 years. She has three siblings. We both also have living grandparents and several aunts, uncles, and cousins.


Derek and his brother have always been close. Derek’s brother, Alex, and his wife, Mindy, live in Washington DC. Mindy has two sisters who are adopted from China and actually work as adoption agents. She and her family have been great with helping us and our families understand the adoption process. Derek’s other brother, Colin, is set to graduate Indiana University this year. The majority of Derek’s extended family live in Indiana.


Sam’s parents live in a suburb outside of Indianapolis as well and work in the hospitality and financial industries. Her younger brother, Michael, is in his final year of school at Southern Indiana University studying technology with the intention of joining the Army after graduation. Her younger sister, Ashley, recently graduated with a degree in kinesiology and has a dream to open a dance studio one day. Sam’s older brother, Doug, lives and works in Charlotte. It is great to have Doug close to us, and he often helps us out with the pets when we go out of town. Sam has extended family in both Indiana and Virginia and is extremely close with her grandparents and aunt on her father’s side.


Our Family Traditions

Both of our families have yearly traditions. Some are common like spending Christmas with the whole family, but some are more unique like the Derek’s family’s annual attendance at the Indianapolis 500 Indy Car Race and elaborate celebration of Halloween. Sam’s grandfather is a retired minister of 35+ years and Derek’s extended family is Catholic, so Christmas is an important time of the year for both of our families. We always travel back to Indiana to celebrate the Holidays. We spend about a week visiting all of our immediate and extended family members for the holiday. We also travel back to Indiana in May for the Indy 500 every year. Derek, his brothers, and his dad have been going to the race together for over 20 years. With the wives joining in about 3 years ago, the race has quickly become one of the bigger family events of the year. Halloween is also a family tradition. Growing up, Derek’s family would go all out with costumes and even set up several haunted houses over the years. Last year, we inherited the tradition and now host the festivities at our house. Halloween is a great time to get a little silly and enjoy being a kid again. We are looking forward to sharing these traditions and much more with our kids as they grow up.



What Led Us To Adoption

We had tried for some time to become pregnant without success. Adoption has always been something we considered, so we decided to pursue it. Becoming parents is more important to us than becoming pregnant.


Facts About Samantha

  • Occupation: Business Initiatives Consultant
  • Religion: Christian
  • Education: BA Political Science, Pursuing MBA
  • Favorite Food: Ice Cream
  • Favorite Hobby: Traveling
  • Favorite Movie: Top Gun
  • Favorite Sport: Baseball
  • Favorite Holiday: Christmas
  • Favorite Music Group: Imagine Dragons
  • Favorite TV Show: NCIS
  • Favorite Book: Harry Potter Series
  • Favorite Subject in School: Chemistry
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: The Caribbean Islands

Facts About Derek

  • Occupation: Global Product Manager
  • Religion: Agnostic
  • Education: BS Mechanical Engineering
  • Favorite Food: Pizza
  • Favorite Hobby: Camping
  • Favorite Movie: Nightmare Before Christmas
  • Favorite Sport: Football
  • Favorite Holiday: Halloween
  • Favorite Music Group: Muse
  • Favorite TV Show: Game of Thrones
  • Favorite Book: Wheel of Time Series
  • Favorite Subject in School: Physics
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: Banff, Canada
contact this family
Real time web analytics, Heat map tracking