Call Us Today!
866-406-2702

« back to waiting families

Scott & Quinn

Scott & Quinn

Race of child interested in adopting:Asian, Caucasian, Caucasian/Asian, Caucasian/African American, Caucasian/Hispanic, Caucasian/Native American, African American/Hispanic and African American/Latino, Latino

Gender of child interested in adopting:No Preference

Dear Birthmother,

Hi! Thank you for taking the time to have a look at our profile. We are Quinn and Scott. We are a happy, healthy couple with wonderful friends and family, but we're yearning for a child to love. Growing up with adoption as a normal part of things (Scott has two adopted sisters, Quinn and her twin sister, Lea, were also adopted), we feel we have a unique perspective on raising an adopted child. We have always assumed that adoption would be a great way to form our family and one day we simply realized, it's time, so here we are!

Our Best,

Quinn & Scott


About Us

We met through a mutual friend almost fifteen years ago. For Quinn, it was love at first sight; for Scott, it was love at second sight, but we have never been apart since. Married for thirteen years, we've learned to work well together and to support each other's interests. We have really grown together to create a strong team; we can even paddle a canoe together without arguing (much)! We're both curious, talkative, enthusiastic, and loving. We spend most of our time together laughing, whether we're working around the house, finding a new trail to hike, or a new recipe to try. We're very down to earth and believe the best thing to give a child is plenty of time and attention. We love hiking and will try most outdoor activities. A recent family vacation included hitting the trail to see the sunrise and a whitewater rafting trip. Scott grew up in a loving, stable family with four siblings, and many other foster brothers and sisters. He was twelve years old when his parents adopted his sisters Tara and Elizabeth. His father taught him to hunt and fish and how to find Indian arrowheads; how to build things and make home improvements.

His mother taught him a love of reading and how to be kind and generous. We always ate meals together as a family and we went to Church together. Every year, our extended family would gather for big reunions at Christmas and on the Fourth of July with barbecues firework displays. Scott is an attorney with the Department of Justice US Trustees. He has been with the program for six years; prior to that, he served as a law clerk to a Federal Bankruptcy judge in Augusta GA. Scott studied neuroscience in college. He put himself through college by caring for older schizophrenic patients in a group home setting, which taught him the value of patience and kindness. A devout Roman Catholic, Scott serves on his parish board; for fun, he rides his bike, and whips up homemade waffles at a moment's notice.

Quinn grew up on a farm with her adoptive parents, biological sister, and three older adoptive siblings. Days were spent riding ponies, hiking through the woods with the dogs, and swimming in the pond. She attended public school through 7th grade, then transferred to a Christian school for high school. Living in the country, life centered around spending time with family and pets, and participating in church activities such as choir, youth group, and vacation Bible school. A homemaker with a background in non-profit development, Quinn is also a writer with one published novella; she hopes to publish more in future. She maintains very close ties to her former colleagues from the non-profit world, going to visit with them and their families several times each year. An enthusiastic vegetarian, she loves trying new recipes. Exercise is an important part of each day, while leisure time is spent reading or working on a craft project. In addition, she mentors people who are working to develop healthy lifestyles, and assists with a close friend's childcare.

Rounding out our little family are our two dogs, Che and Sprout. Che is a Chihuahua who is crazy about kids; he will do anything to attract their attention, hopping on his back legs and doing tricks. Sprout, a Brussels Griffon, is a little more reserved, but once she gets to know you she is a real cuddle bug!


Our Home

We live in a wonderful neighborhood, comprised of Orthodox Jewish, African American, and Irish Catholic families. With a highly-rated Catholic school in walking distance and numerous private schools within a short drive, our neighborhood is filled with children of all ages. There is a community center with a park and public pool just a few blocks away, as well as several award-winning libraries. A private college, John Carroll University, is located at the end of our block.

Our home (one of the first in the neighborhood) is a three-story brick Tudor located on a very quiet tree-lined street. We have three bedrooms and a peaceful back garden with a patio and room to run. The baby's nursery is taking shape, with a budding library of books and many decorative touches Quinn has been making by hand. We're also rearranging our downstairs living area to create a playroom in the current library, so Baby will have a place to nap and play on every floor.


Our Extended Family

Our families are dearly loved; living around the country as we all do, it's hard to get everyone together in one place, but we visit as often as possible, and keep in touch with regular calls and emails. Fortunately, both of our mothers live within a 2.5 hour drive from our home, so we get to share Christmas with each of them, as well as extended family; siblings, cousins, nieces and nephews and their families. We also visit Quinn's mother for her family reunion each summer, which is now in its 80th year.

Vacations are almost always spent with family, generally renting a cabin or condo in the mountains. As often as possible, we travel to visit with Scott's brother and his wife in Southern Ohio, or to spend Thanksgiving with Quinn's twin sister and her family in Texas. Sharing the holidays with our young nieces is truly the best part of the year.

In addition, we've worked to create a family atmosphere with our neighbors and friends, and within Scott's religious community. We're already receiving well wishes and offers of help and support from all!


Our Family Traditions

Some of our traditions include spending Saturday mornings at the local farmer's market, and taking our dogs for an evening stroll. On the weekends, we might head out for a hike, and we love to travel to National Parks or Disney World when we can. We live in a safe, fun-filled family neighborhood with an annual community block party, and we especially love passing out candy to the (literally!) hundreds of trick-or-treaters who come for Halloween. Christmas is always a special time of year: we love setting up the tree and train set.


What Led Us To Adoption

Scott's mother ran a home daycare for many years, and he had younger siblings; Quinn's mother was a volunteer youth choir director and teen group leader, and provided childcare for her younger cousins. So growing up around lots of children made having a houseful seem the way things should be, for both of us, and the only downside to our life together is that we haven't had that happen yet. However, as much as we want a child to love, it never felt necessary for us to pursue having "our own". Adoption has always been a part of our lives, and when we didn't conceive without treatments, it was a natural choice for us to make. Any child we are lucky enough to adopt will be our own, and will be the highest priority in our lives


Facts About Scott

  • Occupation: Attorney
  • Religion: Roman Catholic
  • Education: Law School (Juris Doctorate), Psychology/Biology
  • Favorite Food: Tacos
  • Favorite Hobby: Reading; Practicing Guitar.
  • Favorite Movie: The Lord of The Rings
  • Favorite Sport: Golf
  • Favorite Holiday: Easter
  • Favorite Music Group: Classical (especially Mozart & Bach)
  • Favorite TV Show: Justified
  • Favorite Book: The Bible; Shakespeare’s plays
  • Favorite Subject in School: History
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: Disney World

Facts About Quinn

  • Occupation: Homemaker
  • Religion: Raised Presbyterian
  • Education: Some college, majored in Elementary Education
  • Favorite Food: Thanksgiving Stuffing
  • Favorite Hobby: Yoga
  • Favorite Movie: The Big Lebowski
  • Favorite Sport: Hiking
  • Favorite Holiday: The entire season between Halloween and New Year
  • Favorite Music Group: 80's music rules!
  • Favorite TV Show: Dr.Who
  • Favorite Book: Precious Bane, HP Lovecraft
  • Favorite Subject in School: Biology
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: The Smoky Mtns
contact this family
Real time web analytics, Heat map tracking