Call Us Today!
866-406-2702

« back to waiting families

Jon & Jannine

Jon  & Jannine

Race of child interested in adopting:Arabic, Asian, Caucasian, Caucasian/Asian, Caucasian/African American, Caucasian/Hispanic, Caucasian/Native American, African American/Hispanic and African American/Latino, European, Eastern European/Slavic/Russian, Hispanic or South/Central American, Latino, Jewish, Mediterranean, Multi-Racial, Native American (American Indian), Pacific Islander, Hispanic/Asian

Gender of child interested in adopting:No Preference

Dear Birthmother,

Hello this is Jonathan and Jannine and we would like to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your baby. We know this can be a difficult decision on your part and if there is anything we can do to make it easier, please let us know. Jannine herself was adopted by family as well as her siblings and we are aware of the difficulties that may arise. We have always considered adoption because all children need a loving home and any child that enters are home will be ours.


About Us

As previously mentioned, Jannine was adopted and I, Jonathan was raised by a single mother. My parents were divorced when I was young and we were both raised in a loving and caring environment with rules. Jannine and I met in high school and I guess could be considered high school sweethearts. When Jannine was 18 and had graduated high school, she had family problems and my mom allowed her to move in with us. Around the same time, my mom met my step father who later became like a father to me and we became a tight knit family. That is when I learned that biology has nothing to do with making a family, but it’s the people themselves that make a family. The only rule my family had with our relationship was there had to be a five-year plan in effect. We both had to finish college and have jobs before we could consider getting married. Also, if we decided we weren’t meant for each other, my parents said Jannine would always have a home with us, so we weren’t pressured into marriage. We have been married for 12 years and as all married couples, we have had our difficulties. My parents taught us communication is key in resolving any issues. We now have a large home that has been recently renovated and hope to fill it with children. We have a large ranch home with a finished basement where my mother lives. We recently lost my father, who was ill for a while, but the baby will have at least one grandparent on the premises. We live within walking distance to schools and a huge park, as well as a recreational center in town. The neighborhood is very friendly and the neighbors know each other. We lucked out with this home.


Our Home

Our neighborhood is a mixture of families with and without children, elderly grandparent types, as well as singles. We may not know everyone, but it is the type of neighborhood that looks out for each other. This is our third home and is the first neighborhood that has been this friendly. The grade school and high school is within walking distance. The park has a pool with yearly memberships, as well as activities all year round. The park also offers day summer camp for all ages with many different age appropriate activities. The library is in town and has weekly activities for children of all ages. In fact, Jannine and my mom are avid readers and have their own library in a section of the finished basement. We have a corner lot and our home has ¾ of an acre of land. We plan to make our sunroom into an all season room this summer. As for the nursery, we have new plantation shutters in the nursery, and once we know the sex of the child, we have plans on painting the nursery a proper color. We are having the carpet removed and plan to have someone to stencil the natural wood floor in the nursery. The nursery also has built in cabinet with shelves. We also have a kitchen, which was recently renovated from scratch with a separate eat in area. There is a formal dinning room and living room, which is the family room which has a gas fireplace. We have a nice size entryway as well. The front porch has seating for two. There is also a finished basement, where my mother lives. All the floors are wood in order to keep the house germ free. As mentioned, the house is large and just waiting to be filled with children. As for culture, we go to Pittsburgh for the museums and they have a museum for children as well that they can learn and touch. The zoo is in Pittsburgh as well as fine dining and other cultural stops. We have the best of two worlds living in a great neighborhood, but the ability to drive to Pittsburgh for excitement.


Our Extended Family

Although Jannine was adopted and a single mother raised me for years, my family was close. Jannine didn’t see her siblings until later on. She was raised with two of her sisters, but once she was an adult, she met the rest of her siblings and have a strong relationship with them although, they are spread out in other states. In fact, two of her sisters lived with my parents and us at different times until they could be on their own. When Jannine moved in, she saw that I was raised that friends are important, but family comes first. I was raised with with my grandparents, an aunt and great aunt and uncle always in the picture. They all welcomed Jannine into the family even before we got married.


Our Family Traditions

Although we are Jewish, we are not fanatical but attend services during the holidays. Before my grandparents passed away, we always spent them together. Jannine is Catholic, so we celebrate Christmas and Chanukah, as well as Easter and Passover. In fact, we use to make Easter baskets for my cousins when they were younger. We go to New Jersey every Thanksgiving and Christmas to spend it with my aunt and new uncle as well as cousins. In addition, we spend time with Jannine’s family while there as well whenever they are in town. Tradition is very important to both of us because it’s what makes a family strong.


What Led Us To Adoption

The reason we want to adopt is that my wife Jannine and her siblings were all adopted and we feel that all children deserve a home and be treated as if they were our biological child. In addition, Jannine has had multiple miscarriages and we have had a hard time getting pregnant. We have a large home, big hearts, and need have great deal of love to offer.


Facts About Jon

  • Occupation: Retired
  • Religion: Jewish
  • Education: College
  • Favorite Food: BBQ Bacon Burger
  • Favorite Hobby: Model Trains
  • Favorite Movie: The Advengers
  • Favorite Sport: Football
  • Favorite Holiday: Christmas
  • Favorite Music Group: Blink 182
  • Favorite TV Show: Big Bang Theory
  • Favorite Book: Trains
  • Favorite Subject in School: Science and Computers
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: Charleston, SC

Facts About Jannine

  • Occupation: Retired
  • Religion: Catholic
  • Education: College
  • Favorite Food: Pasta
  • Favorite Hobby: Ceramics and Reading
  • Favorite Movie: Batman Vs Superman
  • Favorite Sport: Baseball
  • Favorite Holiday: Easter
  • Favorite Music Group: Maroon 5
  • Favorite TV Show: Bones
  • Favorite Book: Amish
  • Favorite Subject in School: Math
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: Charleston, SC
contact this family
Real time web analytics, Heat map tracking