Call Us Today!
866-406-2702

« back to waiting families

Rachel & Bakari

Rachel & Bakari

Race of child interested in adopting:Arabic, Asian, African American, African American/Any Mixed Race, Caucasian/Asian, Caucasian/African American, Caucasian/Hispanic, Caucasian/Native American, African American/Hispanic and African American/Latino, Hispanic or South/Central American, Multi-Racial, Hispanic/Asian

Gender of child interested in adopting:Girl

Dear Birthmother,

We are Bakari and Rachel. Keep reading, we think you’ll like us. When you’re done, we would encourage you to bookmark our profile and read several others so you can be confident you made the right decision. Thank you for choosing adoption. While we know that this is a significant decision you are making, we won’t pretend to know what’s it’s like. We are here to support you and facilitate whatever level of openness you want in your relationship with your child.


Adoption was what brought us together as a couple. In June 2014, a mutual friend set us up on a blind date. He thought we would click because we had both expressed to him how we had wanted to grow a family that included adoption since we were both young. Sharing this desire with each other at the beginning of our relationship was one of the things that made us fall in love. We’ve both always wanted to be parents. We are looking forward to having our children – both birth and adopted –in our lives. Our number one goal is to raise happy children who know they are loved unconditionally. We hope to raise them to be ethical, open-minded and secure with themselves.


About Us

We got married in August 2016, surrounded by our wonderful family and friends. Rachel loves animals and we have a fluffy cat named Franklin and a loyal and sweet dog named Didi. Rachel became a lawyer to help people and has worked in public service for her whole career. Bakari is passionate about conserving our natural resources so that we have the best world possible to pass onto our children. He lived for years in a tiny solar powered house and owns an independently certified green business based on the use of a renewable, alternative fuel source. We are both vegetarians, own an electric car and have solar panels on our home. Our love for each other stems from our shared values and the respect we have for each other's passions.


We like to bike to the nature area near our house for picnics and hiking and sometimes take our dog Didi in her bike trailer. Rachel loves to cook and we often have our friends and their children over for dinner and games. She also enjoys playing sports and grew up playing soccer, softball and rowed on her college's crew team. Bakari loves to be active and was invited to appear on the TV show American Ninja Warrior. He has also been a lifelong bicyclist and volunteers as a mechanic with local bicycle non-profits. He has helped in the production of and acted in a series of silly, interactive plays put on by our close friend. He recently started volunteering with Rachel's father who teaches an after-school drama class for elementary school children. We are so excited to become parents and provide a life full of adventure and unconditional love and support for our children.


Our Home

We recently bought our first home together across the bay from San Francisco, a few miles away from Bakari's childhood home and 2 towns over from where Rachel grew up. The city we live in has 6,000 acres of parks and 32 miles of shoreline. Our community is diverse and well integrated. We also own three other homes that are located on our property. We have become friends with our tenants and have formed a tight-knit community. We also recently finished building a vegetable garden. We are a short train ride away from San Francisco and its aquarium and art and science museums. We can’t wait to introduce our wonderful community to our children.


Our Extended Family

Our families are extremely excited about us becoming parents. Bakari's stepbrother is adopted and Bakari's mother worked for many years with foster children. This has helped us gain an understanding of the commitment one makes when adopting a child and the ultimate reward it brings.


We both have younger siblings and we both grew up close by to our large extended families. Our parents only live 15 minutes away from us and we see aunts, uncles, and cousins at least once a month for family get-togethers, camping trips and BBQs. Family is very important to us and our family members are already arguing over who will get to babysit!


Our Family Traditions

On Friday mornings, we like to walk to the Farmer’s Market in front of the library to get fresh vegetables and fruit. Rachel takes Didi to our local park almost every day to play fetch. We grew up celebrating both Jewish holidays and Christmas as both of our moms are Jewish. Family traditions that we grew up with and can’t wait to share with our children, include going on camping trips every summer, watching fireworks on the 4th of July on our roof, regular board game nights and family discussions of everything from politics to philosophy.


What Led Us To Adoption

We have always wanted to have a biological child and one via adoption. We believe adoption is the greatest gift you can give a child, both by the birth parent and the adoptive parent. Both sets of parents are putting the child’s needs first and doing what’s best for the child. Adoption is the ultimate act of selflessness.


Facts About Rachel

  • Occupation: Attorney
  • Religion: Not religious, but enjoy celebrating Christmas, Easter and Jewish holidays
  • Education: BA and Law Degree
  • Favorite Food: Homemade Macaroni and Cheese
  • Favorite Hobby: Hiking
  • Favorite Movie: Love and Basketball
  • Favorite Sport: Softball
  • Favorite Holiday: Thanksgiving
  • Favorite Music Group: Mariah Carey
  • Favorite TV Show: The Wire
  • Favorite Book: Anna Karenina
  • Favorite Subject in School: Spanish
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: Argentina + Hawaii

Facts About Bakari

  • Occupation: Handyman
  • Religion: Agnostic
  • Education: Associate Degree
  • Favorite Food: Ice Cream
  • Favorite Hobby: Skating
  • Favorite Movie: Spirited Away
  • Favorite Sport: Mountain Biking
  • Favorite Holiday: Christmas
  • Favorite Music Group: They Might Be Giants
  • Favorite TV Show: Buffy the Vampire Slayer
  • Favorite Book: The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy
  • Favorite Subject in School: Biology
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: St. Lucia
contact this family
Real time web analytics, Heat map tracking