Call Us Today!
866-406-2702

« back to waiting families

Stephanie & Michael

Stephanie  & Michael

Race of child interested in adopting:African American

Gender of child interested in adopting:No Preference

Dear Birthmother,

Thank you for taking the time to read our profile and for getting to know us. We are Mike and Stephanie and we’re grateful that you have considered us. We respect you for starting this process and hope to help you feel confident that you will have made the right decision. From the beginning of marriage, we discussed completing our family through adoption. We have been married for 15 years now and have been unable to have children of our own. We still have the desire to complete our family through adoption. We know that raising a child will be one of the most fulfilling roles that both of us will have in this life. We also want to share the love that God has given to us as his adopted sons and daughters.


About Us

Mike is a Computer Programmer and Stephanie recently left her job as an Accounts Specialist in order to raise a child at home. Mike also has a Psychology degree, but decided to pursue a career in computers like his father. Although he enjoys being a programmer, he would like to change careers one day and be a math teacher. We met each other at church and started out as friends where we are active in serving. We love to teach children in Sunday school because it helps us to keep child-like hearts. We both sing at church and we are in the Gospel Choir. Mike has also performed in several church productions, and most recently we both performed in the production of “One Bethlehem Night;” a twist on the traditional Nativity story.

Even though we are from different backgrounds, we have a lot in common. We both love 80’s music, we tend to have the same sense of humor and enjoy the same kinds of movies. We have introduced new things to each other as well. Mike has introduced Stephanie to more classical music and Stephanie has introduced Mike to Christian Rap and Gospel songs. We like to try different foods and live a healthy lifestyle because we want to be around a long time for our future children. Stephanie likes to make different types of healthy meals and Mike is always willing to give it a try.


Our Home

Our house has four bedrooms and three baths. It is two stories with two bedrooms and one bath on the second level and two bedrooms on the main level. Our nursery is on the main level next to our bedroom. Our house is on the corner and has a larger than normal yard. The homes in our neighborhood have a lot of character. Most of the homes, including ours, are more than 100 years old. We live in an urban environment with a diverse population with a mixture of renters and owners near college campuses, parks and lakes. There is a park within walking distance that has a kid’s playground, a baseball field, a large wooded picnic area, and places to barbeque. There is an elementary school one block away that has a partnership with a private university across the street. There is a zoo nearby with kid’s rides, a botanical and Japanese Garden.


Our Extended Family

Mike grew up in the same house his entire childhood. His mom still lives in the house he grew up in, but his father passed away in 2011. He has an older sister who has three children. The children are almost all grown up and Mike’s mom would love to have another grandchild to love up on.

Stephanie grew up in the Air Force for half of her childhood. One of the places she lived in was Spain. She has a larger family which includes two brothers, two sisters, five nieces, and four nephews. Her parents live close by and love to spend time with their grandchildren.


Our Family Traditions

We have large family gatherings for birthdays once a month to celebrate those with a birthday. We sing Happy Birthday in English, Spanish, and sing “May the good Lord bless you” to the tune of Happy Birthday. We always gather for major holidays, with games, food, and music. We live 30 minutes from everyone in the family.

We are grateful for each other’s families embracing us despite being from different cultures. We like to spend time with our nieces and nephews and take them to special places, and make memories with them.

On Monday nights, we have a “family time” to discuss plans for the week and to connect with each other on how we are doing.


What Led Us To Adoption

We always wanted to have children and dreamed about being parents since we got married. We knew it may be difficult having children even before we were married, but we had faith that anything is possible with God. After years of not getting pregnant, we tried a couple rounds of IVF, which were unsuccessful. We discussed adoption even before marriage as something we would want to do even if we were able to have children. Being able to raise a child and show them all the love that we have to give is something we have felt called to do. We love being around children, but being parents is a joy that we have been longing to fulfill for 15 years. We have a great marriage and we love each other very much, and it would be so wonderful to love a child together working as a team. We are grateful for this opportunity and would cherish everyday that we were parents.


Facts About Stephanie

  • Occupation: Homemaker
  • Religion: Christian
  • Education: Social Science
  • Favorite Food: Too many to name
  • Favorite Hobby: Searching for coupons
  • Favorite Movie: What about Bob?
  • Favorite Sport: Do not have one
  • Favorite Holiday: Thanksgiving
  • Favorite Music Group: There are too many to name
  • Favorite TV Show: Do not have one
  • Favorite Book: The Bible
  • Favorite Subject in School: Home Economics
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: Vancouver B.C.

Facts About Michael

  • Occupation: Computer Programmer
  • Religion: Christian
  • Education: Psychology and Computer Science
  • Favorite Food: Pizza
  • Favorite Hobby: Triathlon (Swimming, Biking, Running)
  • Favorite Movie: Despicable Me
  • Favorite Sport: Tennis
  • Favorite Holiday: Thanksgiving
  • Favorite Music Group: Hillsong United (Christian)
  • Favorite TV Show: The Walking Dead
  • Favorite Book: The Hunger Games
  • Favorite Subject in School: Math
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: Hawaii
contact this family
Real time web analytics, Heat map tracking