Call Us Today!

« back to waiting families

Laura & Travis

Laura & Travis

Race of child interested in adopting:Asian, Caucasian, Caucasian/Asian, Caucasian/Hispanic, Hispanic or South/Central American, Hispanic/Asian

Gender of child interested in adopting:No Preference

Dear Birthmother,

Our hearts and prayers are with you as you take this selfless and difficult journey. As parents, we understand the love you have for your child and we appreciate your courage and desire to provide them with the best life possible. We are Laura and Travis. We live in a suburb of Seattle, Washington with our son, Henry. We are so excited to add another child to our family and to give Henry a brother or sister. Laura had a very difficult pregnancy/delivery and is unable to have more children. Prior to becoming pregnant, however, we had already started the adoption process because this path has always been in our hearts! If we are given the opportunity, we will love, provide and support your child to help them achieve all of their dreams in the most awesome family ever (ok… we’re biased). We look forward to getting to know you, Laura and Travis

About Us

We met at our local gym and have been married for 3 years. After several doctors told Laura she couldn’t become pregnant, God surprised us with Henry! He is 2 years old and is the biggest blessing and surprise we could have ever gotten. Our lives are 100% family. We love being together, travelling, playing and spending time with our friends and extended families. When Travis gets home from work we usually walk to the park so Henry can run around the playground. It’s also great exercise and allows us to spend time together and talk. We have dinner together every evening, usually at home. Laura has taken up cooking since she’s been working from home. Because family is our number one priority, it has allowed us to become great partners. We really appreciate the work the other one does for our family.

Our Home

We live in a new, 4 bedroom, 2.5 bath home in a suburb of Seattle and Tacoma. We live at the end of a private driveway so we have a nice front driveway where it’s safe for kids to ride a bike and play. We also have a large fenced in back yard with a play house and swing set. We have set aside one of the rooms for a nursery but plan on the baby staying in our room for the first few months. Laura has an office downstairs and half of her office is the play room where Henry plays. We live within walking distance to two very nice parks with playgrounds. We usually walk to one of them every day that it’s nice out. Our neighborhood is great for being outside and walking around. We know several neighbors and there are many kids nearby. Several miles away there is a new splash pad/ spray park. They also have a public indoor pool. The spray park is so fun in the summer and is great for everyone to go and cool off. It was one of Laura and Henry’s favorite things to do this summer on hot days. We also live close to the Puget Sound where there is a beach. It’s too cold to swim there, but it’s beautiful to walk along and look at the wild life. You can usually see sea lions and seals there.

Our Extended Family

We are both very close with our families. Laura grew up in West Virginia and her family still lives there. We travel back there several times a year to spend time with her parents, sister and brother-in-law, granddad, and extended family. Her family also travels to Washington to visit us several times a year. Laura’s parents, Mia and Poppa, LOVE being grandparents. They are very supportive of our family and do everything they can for us and Henry. Laura’s sister, Megan, and her husband, Tyler are Henry’s God parents. Because we are so far away, we make sure we Facetime with Mia, Poppa, and Aunt Meg every day.

Travis’s dad and stepmother live in Arkansas. We usually go there once a year to visit and they come to visit us several times throughout the year. Travis has 3 step-siblings and 6 nieces and nephews ranging in age from 2-8 years old. His step-siblings and their families all live within a 40 minute drive of us. Travis’s dad or “Grandpa” loves tractors and that is something he loves showing all of the grandkids.

We are so lucky that we have close friends that are like our family in Washington. It allows us to have such a great support system that’s nearby. Our best friends are Hilary and Jason and their 5 kids who range in age from 8 to 21 years old. We celebrate Easter, Thanksgiving and birthdays with their family. Henry is a part of their family and their kids are a part of ours! We love every moment we spend with their kids and are lucky that our children will have them to look up to.

Our Family Traditions

We try and spend Christmas with both families. Travis’s parents come to Washington every year, so we spend several days with them before flying to WV to see Laura’s family. Every summer we go on vacation with Laura’s family to Florida. Every two years, Travis’s family travels to a dude ranch in Arkansas. We celebrate our birthdays and other holidays with our Washington family, as we call our best friends. We also try to take several other vacations throughout the year with just the three of us.

What Led Us To Adoption

We had a difficult time conceiving Henry and had already started looking to adopt. We feel we have plenty of love to share that doesn't need to be bound by biology. After a difficult pregnancy and scary delivery, we decided that we wouldn’t (and shouldn’t) try to conceive again. We kept coming back to the idea that adoption is something we are called to do. We would love nothing more than to share our love and all we have with a child through the miracle of adoption.

Facts About Laura

  • Occupation: Merchandising Contractor
  • Religion: Christian
  • Education: Master’s, University of Kentucky
  • Favorite Food: Barbeque
  • Favorite Hobby: Crafting
  • Favorite Movie: Christmas Vacation
  • Favorite Sport: Football
  • Favorite Holiday: Christmas
  • Favorite Music Group: Beyonce
  • Favorite TV Show: Grey’s Anatomy
  • Favorite Book: The Great Gatsby
  • Favorite Subject in School: Business
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: Siesta Key, FL

Facts About Travis

  • Occupation: United States Coast Guard
  • Religion: Spiritual
  • Education: BS, Old Dominion
  • Favorite Food: Sushi
  • Favorite Hobby: Hunting
  • Favorite Movie: Don’t Be a Menace
  • Favorite Sport: Football
  • Favorite Holiday: 4th of July
  • Favorite Music Group: Social Distortion
  • Favorite TV Show: Walking Dead
  • Favorite Book: Empire of the Summer Moon
  • Favorite Subject in School: History
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: Hawaii
contact this family
Real time web analytics, Heat map tracking