Call Us Today!

« back to waiting families

Tina & Donny

Tina & Donny

Race of child interested in adopting:Caucasian, Caucasian/Asian, Caucasian/African American, Caucasian/Hispanic, Hispanic or South/Central American, Latino

Gender of child interested in adopting:No Preference

Dear Birthmother,

We are Tina and Donny. Thank you for giving our family the opportunity to be complete. We know that this is a difficult decision to make, but we wanted to thank you for choosing adoption. Our story began in 2001. We met online when AOL chatrooms were popular and we instantly hit it off. It felt like we had known each other forever and the rest is history! When we decided to have children, adoption was always part of our plan. Both of us have several family members who are adopted. We felt that even if we had children of our own, we wanted to share our lives with an adopted child, as well. After several doctors appointments with several different specialists, a diagnosis of unexplained infertility and several failed rounds of fertility treatments, the answer was clear to us that the next step was to adopt. So here we are; this is where our paths were meant to cross.

About Us

Both of us come from lower-middle class families. We learned early in life that it is not necessarily the things you have, but the people in your life that matter most. Tina's parents divorced when she was only two years old and she was raised primarily by her mother. She watched her mom struggle day in and day out to be able to give her everything she needed and more. She knew at a young age that if she wanted to have a better life she would need to work hard. Tina spends her free time reading, cooking and traveling. She is a forever student and loves to learn new things.

William, or Donny as we call him, grew up with his mother, father and younger sister. When he was five years old, his father was in a major car crash that cost him his left leg and changed the family dynamic. His aunts, uncles and cousins were a strong support system for him during his childhood. He learned to bake from his aunts and became known as the block mechanic who would repair things the adults couldn't fix. Donny loves anything having to do with water. He spends a lot of time in the snow during the winter months and swimming or scuba diving in the summer.

Our Home

We live in a 3 bedroom, 2.5 bath home with a medium size yard where we grow lots of vegetables. The backyard is currently a blank slate, but can be a wonderland waiting to be explored by a child. We have lots of space to grow and change things in our current home. Tina's mother moved in when her husband passed away to help her save up enough to buy a house of her own.

We have lived in the same suburban community for the last 9 years. Our neighborhood is extremely diverse. There is even a park a few blocks away where most of the neighborhood kids go to play at the playground or shoot hoops. On Halloween, our house is one of the favorites and a lot of the neighborhood kids stop by for a trick or treat!

Our Extended Family

We cherish the time we spend with our families, especially during the holidays. Most of our families do not live nearby, so we alternate which family we will visit during the holidays. Despite the distance, we are always there for each other. We consider ourselves animal people and currently have two crazy cats. "Kitty" is your quintessential indoor cat. She loves to lay in the sun, snuggle and play with her toys. She is very loving and caring and is a great companion when you are home sick. "Stoli" is a stray cat who is an outdoor cat to the fullest. He is very independent and smart. He will very rarely show his affection and love to you, but when he does he is the sweetest cat. A few years back, we found him in our yard dying of starvation and riddled with fleas. We had him cleaned up, fattened up and neutered. From that point on he became ours.

Our Family Traditions

We feel that traditions are better when you can make them your own. Over the years we have created many of our own traditions. Every fall, we go to Half Moon Bay to pick out pumpkins to carve for Halloween and sugar pie pumpkins to make homemade pumpkin pies. For Christmas, we cut down our own Christmas tree, come home and put on holiday music and decorate the whole house and the tree. We also celebrate Friends-Giving and Christmas Eve Eve.

What Led Us To Adoption

Adoption has always been in the cards for us. Given that we both have several adopted family members, it seemed the next logical step in our journey of becoming parents. After receiving the diagnosis of unexplained infertility and undergoing several rounds of infertility treatments, the answer was clear to us that the next step was adoption. So here we are!

Facts About Tina

  • Occupation: Physician Assistant & Director of Food Allergy Clinic
  • Religion: Raised Catholic
  • Education: Masters of Medical Science
  • Favorite Food: Pizza
  • Favorite Hobby: Gardening + Reading
  • Favorite Movie: Harry Potter Series
  • Favorite Sport:
  • Favorite Holiday: Christmas
  • Favorite Music Group: Variety of Genres
  • Favorite TV Show: Big Bang Theory
  • Favorite Book: Harry Potter Series
  • Favorite Subject in School: All of the Sciences
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: Costa Rica

Facts About Donny

  • Occupation: Diesel Mechanic & Shop Foreman
  • Religion: Raised Catholic
  • Education: Certifications for Diesel/Automotive Mechanics
  • Favorite Food: Hamburgers
  • Favorite Hobby: Scuba Diving
  • Favorite Movie: Shawshank Redemption
  • Favorite Sport: Football, Go Raiders!
  • Favorite Holiday: 4th of July
  • Favorite Music Group: Led Zeppelin
  • Favorite TV Show: Big Bang Theory
  • Favorite Book: Harry Potter Series
  • Favorite Subject in School: Shop Class
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: Yosemite
contact this family
Real time web analytics, Heat map tracking