Call Us Today!

« back to waiting families

Amanda & Jesse

Amanda  & Jesse

Race of child interested in adopting:No Preference

Gender of child interested in adopting:No Preference

Dear Birthmother,

Aloha and thank you for viewing our profile. We know choosing a home for your child is difficult, and we cannot imagine the range of emotions you must be experiencing. We are Jesse and Amanda and we live in Maui, Hawaii. Maui is a very special place and we want to be able to give a child an opportunity to grow up here and to experience the beauty of living on an island. Since we married over two years ago, we knew we wanted to adopt or foster children in the future. Conceiving has been difficult for us, so we know adopting our first child is what is meant to be. We have so much love to give and becoming parents and creating a family means everything to us. We love Hawaii and feel blessed every day to live in such a magical place. We look forward to getting to know you!

About Us

We met in Park City, Utah, which is a small ski town about 45 minutes from Salt Lake City. Jesse grew up there, while Amanda had just moved from her hometown in San Diego, California. We were friends first and stayed in contact mostly through social media. Our first real date was a hike up a steep trail. When we got to the top, Amanda was trying to hide that she was a little afraid of heights. Jesse comforted her and made her feel safe. We were married two years later on September 12, 2015, in a beautiful mountain home outside of Park City.

Soon after, we moved to Telluride, Colorado, which is an even smaller ski town. We enjoyed a National Forest in our "backyard" and loved to hike almost every day. After two years, Amanda missed the ocean and warm weather, so we moved to Kihei, Hawaii on the island of Maui where we would like to stay forever.

We try to give back to the island as much as we can by volunteering to pick up trash or help keep the trails and Hawaiian cultural sites clear. We love to hike and enjoy the outdoors. We love to go to the beach, surf, stand up paddle board or just play in the waves. Family is very important to us and we see our parents and siblings several times a year. We are a fun couple who love to get out and adventure, as well as take time to slow things down, connect and relax in each other's company.

Our Home

Hawaii is a very diverse state and we love to learn about the many cultures that exist on the island. The Hawaiian culture is particularly interesting and exists in many places around our home, whether it be restaurants, parks or neighbors. Our home is located a few blocks from the beach, Kalama Park, churches, schools and many fun activities. We live in a cottage with a yard with plenty of space to play in. We like to sit on our lanai (deck) and enjoy the sunset or watch our dog, Penny play in the yard. We often walk from our home to the park, or to get coffee on weekend mornings.

Our Extended Family

Family is very important to us. Jesse's dad is from northern New Hampshire and comes from a hard-working family that is close to each other from siblings to cousins. He loves to fish and plans on visiting Hawaii more now that he is retired. Jesse's mom lives in Utah and they are very close. She is a ski instructor and owns her own landscaping/ nursery business. Jesse's brother lives in Oregon and has always been there for him. They would do anything for each other and have a close relationship.

Amanda's family lives in San Diego, California. She has two older sisters and one half-sister. Her family is very loving; the type who say "I love you" at any chance they get. She is especially close to her mother, who is already a grandmother to our nephew. Amanda's mom is considering a move to Hawaii with her husband, in order to be closer to Amanda and Jesse.

Just a 5-hour flight from San Diego, her sisters and mom visit an average of five times per year. She never has to miss them too much before they are back to enjoy Maui! Both Amanda's mother and father have many siblings, which means she has grown up around a large family.

Our Family Traditions

We celebrate traditional holidays and created a new Christmas tradition this past year with a palm tree Christmas tree! When we can’t spend holidays with our parents and siblings, we surround ourselves with close friends. Amanda enjoys baking around the holidays, creating fudge, caramel corn and sugar cookies. She loves to bake cupcakes and cakes for birthdays and pot lucks.

What Led Us To Adoption

Before we knew about our fertility issues, we always knew we wanted to grow our family by adopting one or more of our children. We have so much love to give and want to provide a great home to a wonderful child.

Facts About Amanda

  • Occupation: Property Manager
  • Religion: Spiritual
  • Education: College - Major in English
  • Favorite Food: Pizza
  • Favorite Hobby: Hiking
  • Favorite Movie: Coco
  • Favorite Sport: Soccer
  • Favorite Holiday: Christmas
  • Favorite Music Group: Iron & Wine
  • Favorite TV Show: Friends
  • Favorite Book: A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius
  • Favorite Subject in School: Literature
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: Madeira

Facts About Jesse

  • Occupation: Concierge/Bellman
  • Religion: Spiritual
  • Education: Bachelor’s Degree in Business Management
  • Favorite Food: Teriyaki Chicken Rice Bowl
  • Favorite Hobby: Skiing
  • Favorite Movie: Shawshank Redemption
  • Favorite Sport: Soccer
  • Favorite Holiday: Thanksgiving
  • Favorite Music Group: Paul Simon
  • Favorite TV Show: Seinfeld
  • Favorite Book: Hornblower Series
  • Favorite Subject in School: Science
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: Italy
contact this family
Real time web analytics, Heat map tracking