Call Us Today!

« back to waiting families

Andrea & Jon

Andrea  & Jon

Race of child interested in adopting:No Preference

Gender of child interested in adopting:No Preference

Dear Birthmother,

Thank you so much for your consideration in adopting your baby! We recognize that this could be a very difficult decision for you and words cannot begin to express how grateful in advance we are for the selfless act you have chosen in giving us a chance to love your child. It is our heart’s desire to provide the best for your baby in a nurturing and loving home.

Our names are Jon and Andrea. We have been married for over 5 years now and see ourselves as a fun and loving couple. It has always been important to us to have our own family, and after several unsuccessful infertility attempts, losses and heartache, we decided the best decision for us would be to adopt a precious baby. Jon was adopted at birth so this decision has even more meaning to us. We are extremely excited to start our family through the miracle of adoption and promise a loving, caring and safe home for your child.

About Us

A Little About Jon:

I am a funny, relaxed and patient guy who works for a large accounting firm. I grew up in Kansas City, KS as the oldest brother of 3 sisters. I actually was adopted at birth by my parents. After my parents saw how awesome I was, they were able to conceive my three sisters. We eventually moved to Texas where I attended high school and graduated from college with my Master of Science in Accounting.

I am about to turn 30 years old! I enjoy playing basketball, football, and poker. Not surprisingly, I also like to watch sports, specifically the Kansas City Chiefs (lately it's been hard but I am a loyal fan). I am an also an Eagle Scout and enjoy the outdoors. My wife and I love to try new restaurants, walk our dogs, explore new places, and watch movies.

A Little About Andrea:

I am more on the quiet side, but funny and very loving/nurturing and a good listener. I was born in Charleston, WV and moved to Texas when I was 11. I have two older brothers. Both are married and have 2 children each. I love being an aunt! My parents are very loving and already amazing grandparents and I absolutely cannot wait for them to become grandparents again. From a very young age, I always knew I wanted to be a mother and even had the desire to adopt children no matter if I was able to have children on my own or not.

I am currently 34 years old and work at a health coaching company as a Registered Dietitian and help people with diabetes and weight management. On the fun side of things, I love to cook and bake (I can make awesome desserts – just because I’m a dietitian, doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy fun food!). I enjoy playing the piano and would love to teach lessons one day. I also love sports (all kinds!), but definitely into football and baseball the most. I am a runner and enjoy working out as well – just ran my second half marathon and working towards a full marathon in the next few months. For relaxing – I enjoy reading a good book (from mysteries to historical fiction to romance), shopping with friends, and antiquing. History is one of my favorite subjects and I enjoy visiting a good museum as well.

Most importantly for the both of us, we love being married to each other and spending time together and cannot wait till we can share our love, life and family with a baby and raise that child together!

Our Home

We live in a 4 bedroom home (with our sweet puppies) in a suburb of Dallas, TX. One of those rooms, nestled in the corner, is reserved as the future nursery! We love our little home and enjoy living in our neighborhood. It has a park, playground, walking trails, and lots of other children. Everyone is really friendly and our community has many programs for kids to be involved in. The school district our future children will attend is a top-10 in the area out of over 50 school districts. We love the small town feel, but also love having the big Dallas city just 30 minutes away. There are still lots of farms behind our neighborhood – one farm even has a pet camel! We visit him every few months or so.

Our Extended Family

Our families are a consistent source of strength and advice – both our families have a strong bond and are full of love. Since Jon’s parents went through the adoption process with him, they have been a great source of advice for us. Both sides of our families are extremely excited about the adoption.

Aside from Jon’s amazing parents (who cannot WAIT to become grandparents), he has 3 loving and wonderful sisters who are going to make amazing aunts! Andrea’s parents are already wonderful grandparents to her brothers’ children. Andrea has 2 older brothers; both are married with 2 children each. Andrea’s brothers’ wives have always been the older sisters she never had and very special in her life.

Andrea’s nieces and nephew are excited to add to the family! They are all in high school and are already amazing at the cousin role, so will be great with our new addition to the family!

Although not blood related, Andrea has a couple older and very special ladies in her life that are just as supportive and excited for a new baby – will just be more “grandparents” in the baby’s life!

Our Family Traditions

During the holidays, we visit both sides of our family - one side on Thanksgiving and one on Christmas. Although both houses are packed tight, we enjoy the time together telling stories, playing board games, playing sports, and talking about the upcoming year. Recently, we have started voting on where the annual family vacation will be. So far, as a family, we have gone to Pensacola Beach and on a Caribbean Cruise with Andrea’s family and to Maine and Kansas City with Jon’s family! Each family has special little traditions, aside from family vacations, that we cannot wait to start with our own little family. Our traditions are: decorating with music and drinking hot chocolate, having cinnamon rolls on Christmas morning, going to a special Christmas Eve service and receiving presents, providing for a special needs family each holiday, and searching for the perfect Christmas tree. Celebrating milestones is very important as well – whether it be a birthday, graduation, special accomplishment, etc. Both families have instilled in us the importance of being together and supporting one another.

Outside of the holidays, we enjoy attending sporting events like MLB and NFL games. Further, we enjoy hiking, watching movies, and visiting local museums, or relaxing by the pool and eating at different restaurants – or enjoying Jon’s dad’s BBQ (amazing)!

What Led Us To Adoption

From Andrea–

From the time I was a young girl, I have always felt a strong calling to adopt. After meeting Jon, who was adopted as a baby, it seemed that I was being led more in this direction. It wasn't clear to us that this was the exact path we should go down until after Jon and I were married, and found we were unable to have children on our own.

From Jon-

Adoption is important to me as it allowed me to grow up in a loving home and now I will be able to return that love to our own adopted child.
We know for a fact this is the path we are to take. We both believe that adoption is a great opportunity to provide a healthy, stable, and supportive life for a child, and that it is a gift to be called parents through adoption.

Facts About Andrea

  • Occupation: Dietitian/Nutritionist
  • Religion: Christian
  • Education: Bachelors in Nutrition
  • Favorite Food: Meal: Cheeseburger with French fries Others: dark chocolate, peanut butter, all kinds of cheese
  • Favorite Hobby: Running and Baking
  • Favorite Movie: The Princess Bride
  • Favorite Sport: Football and Baseball
  • Favorite Holiday: Thanksgiving
  • Favorite Music Group: Eminem and Kendrick Lamar
  • Favorite TV Show: Friends and Master Chef
  • Favorite Book: Tale of Two Cities and The Fatal Series
  • Favorite Subject in School: History
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: St Maarten and Las Vegas

Facts About Jon

  • Occupation: Financial Assurance
  • Religion: Christian
  • Education: Masters in Accounting
  • Favorite Food: Chinese dumplings
  • Favorite Hobby: Basketball and Poker
  • Favorite Movie: District 9
  • Favorite Sport: Football (NFL)
  • Favorite Holiday: Christmas
  • Favorite Music Group: Daft Punk
  • Favorite TV Show: The Wire
  • Favorite Book: Ender's Game
  • Favorite Subject in School: Spanish
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: St. Maarten
contact this family
Real time web analytics, Heat map tracking