Call Us Today!

« back to waiting families

Shawna & Kevin

Shawna & Kevin

Race of child interested in adopting:Caucasian

Gender of child interested in adopting:Boy

Dear Birthmother,

Thank you for taking this opportunity to read our profile and get to know us. Our names are Kevin, Shawna, Elina and Remington (both of which are our dogs). We live in Alaska and enjoy all the adventures that our great state has to offer. We have been happily married since July of 2016 and built a brand-new house that same year. Our adoption journey started when we underwent six, unsuccessful fertility treatments. We went through heartache as we got positive pregnancy tests, only to find out that they were indeed false. Shawna was adopted from a very young age and can offer so much sympathy, empathy and understanding of what it means to be adopted.

We applaud the sacrifices you are making and have the utmost respect for you and your family. You are giving us the opportunity to be a family, which is something we cannot do without your help. We look forward to getting to know you and being a part of this once in a lifetime gift of raising the child that you are offering.

About Us

We met each other in Idaho and married in 2016. We moved to Alaska and enjoy many of the same outdoor activities, including fishing, hunting, hiking, camping and riding our 4-wheeler to explore new trails around our home. We complete each other and share such a deep connection that we often finish each other's sentences. We both persevered through difficulties when we were younger and have learned to not give up when life's circumstances try and drag you down.

Kevin has one brother and a grown daughter, Anieka who lives in Texas. He lived overseas in Australia where he suffered an industrial accident and had a partial amputation of his left thumb, which was successfully reattached. He then moved back to Idaho where he met Shawna. Shawna grew up in Washington and was adopted by her grandparents when she was two years old. She has two older brothers with her adoptive parents and many younger siblings from her birth parents. Despite being diagnosed with Type I Diabetes in high school, she still excelled in multiple sports and was involved in the local fire department as both a volunteer firefighter and a firefighter intern. Shawna grew up as a daddy's girl and shares an extremely close bond with her mother. She always knew that she wanted to someday adopt a child. She deeply desires to give a child the life her parents gave to her.

Our Home

We live in the beautiful state of Alaska. Our home sits on a little over an acre of land with the yard almost entirely fenced in. Our future child will have a lot of safe, outdoor space to play. We plan to buy or build a swing set and Lincoln Log type playground. The nursery is almost finished and the dresser drawers are stocked with clothing.

We live only 20 minutes outside of town and two high schools and middle schools. There is a grade school about 25 minutes away. All emergency services are within 30 minutes of our home. We live near the entrance of a mountain where many people cross country ski, hike and visit an old gold mining area. The gold mine has been restored and has become a tourist attraction. As you can see from the photos throughout our profile, we live in an area surrounded by natural beauty and wonder. We can't wait to share this beauty with our future child.

Our Extended Family

Kevin has a very strong bond with his parents. He is so appreciative of everything they have done for him throughout his life and doesn't know what he'd do without them. They are there for him when he needs emotional support and have offered financial support with no expectations of receiving anything in return. He also has one brother and a grown daughter, Anieka who will be 24 in December. Being a young father came with many adversities, but also taught him patience and humanity. He raised Anieka the best he could and is grateful to have a good relationship with her today. They don't see each other as much as they would like due to distance, but they talk as often as possible.

Shawna was adopted by her grandparents at the age of two. Both her birth parents were young when she was born. She has two older brothers. She grew up as a daddy's girl and shares a strong bond with her mom. Her mom was there for her when she found out that she wouldn't ever be able to conceive children on her own. Shawna is eternally grateful for the life her adopted parents gave her and wishes to give the same to a child of her own.

Our Family Traditions

Growing up Kevin and his brother would talk to each other through the vents on Christmas because they were not allowed to come out of their rooms until their mom played the song The First Noel.When Anieka was growing up, they would always open one gift on Christmas Eve and watched Christmas movies. Shawna has an incredible gift with making things such as sewing baby blankets or something as simple as a burp rag. Kevin's mother is sewing a special blanket for their futurechild to use for many years. We are eager to start some family traditions of our own with our child.

What Led Us To Adoption

We had numerous failed attempts with our fertility doctor. After having false positives and not successfully getting pregnant, we decided to look at adoption. Shawna is adopted herself and offers a unique perspective. We hope to find a birth mother that will give us the honor of raising her child. We hope she feels our passion and desire to be parents.

Facts About Shawna

  • Occupation: Sales Associate
  • Religion: Christian
  • Education: AA Degree + Advanced EMT/Paramedic
  • Favorite Food: Anything Home Cooked + Steak + Lasagna + Tater Tot Casserole
  • Favorite Hobby: Fishing + Quilting
  • Favorite Movie: Harry Potter Series + Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
  • Favorite Sport: Baseball/Softball
  • Favorite Holiday: Decorating for Halloween & Xmas
  • Favorite Music Group: Enjoy Country + Rock n' Roll + some Hip Hop
  • Favorite TV Show: Last Man Standing
  • Favorite Book: Any Autobiography
  • Favorite Subject in School: Math + Wood/Metal Shop + Art
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: Wallowa Lake in Eastern Oregon

Facts About Kevin

  • Occupation: Chief Cook/ Chef
  • Religion: Pentecostal
  • Education: Some College + Culinary Program
  • Favorite Food: Pizza + Shawna's Lasagna + Tater Tot Casserole + Artichokes
  • Favorite Hobby: Fishing + Darts + Anything Outdoors
  • Favorite Movie: Top Gun
  • Favorite Sport: Football
  • Favorite Holiday: Christmas
  • Favorite Music Group: Enjoy All Types
  • Favorite TV Show: The 100
  • Favorite Book: The Sword of Shanara
  • Favorite Subject in School:
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: By Any River
contact this family
Real time web analytics, Heat map tracking